top of page

Finding My Niche


For someone who has been writing for several years, most of that time writing in a more journalistic style, you would think I would have found a topic or niche I'm interested in writing in by now. Well, the truth is, it's very hard for me to just choose one niche. I've always been a hard news reporter, covering school, local and national news, and never really exploring anything outside of that. Sometimes, I write feature, long-form stories about life and culture, social issues, some stories more fun than others. I'm a well rounded journalist who really will cover just about anything. But now, with this blog, I have the option to pick cover anything my heart desires. After a lot of consideration and hours of indecisiveness, I think I have finally chosen something I would be interested writing about: food.

Since childhood, my palate has tasted all sorts of foods from around the world, and there are still many other places I need to explore. Through this blog, I am hoping to learn how to turn my love for food into words so others can learn and seek what their taste buds are missing.

Ithaca, New York has become it's own unique, food scene within the past few years, and with this blog, I intend to visit various restaurants, taste the most delectable dishes, educate readers of the culture behind the food, and more. Ithaca is also known for its many food festivals, and of course I will attend those. Besides food in Ithaca, I will be writing about national and international food trends, restaurants and food festivals throughout the United States and the world, and so on. Basically, if it has to do with food, I will be writing about it.

 

That being said, here is some more relevant food related news. Hurricane Irma raged through the island of St. Martin this week, leaving the northeast Caribbean island with no food. According to The New York Times, residents are facing severe food and water shortages, most of the island is fighting to survive. The absence of food has led to some violence, according the article. The island is currently being aided by Britain, France and the Netherlands, who are sending aid to those who need it. With approximately 95 percent of the island being destroyed, the residents of St. Martin are seeking as much help as possible.

Source: Wikipedia Commons

Source: Wikipedia Commons

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page